The Crash of 2012

Okay, so, I’m minding my own business.  It’s the weekend, the first weekend in months that I don’t have anything going, just forty-eight hours to read and write and relax. Then it happens.

A message appears Saturday morning as I’m checking email. “Your hard drive is failing. Please backup immediately to avoid losing data.”

I laugh nervously and look from side to side. This must be some kind of mistake. I click Cancel. This was clearly sent in error. My hard drive was fine just yesterday, wasn’t it?

Ten minutes later. “Your hard drive is failing. Please backup immediately to avoid losing data.”

Twenty minutes later it becomes obvious that my last-ditch effort to backup my data has failed. No reading. No writing. I am in Recovery Mode.

I have a Windows machine, so that means my backup options aren’t exactly straightforward. I have three backup schemes in place: an old backup of all my data from about two years ago on an external hard drive; a cloud backup called Carbonite; and a spotty Norton Ghost that runs sometimes and doesn’t run others. None of them are ideal, but it looks like between the three I am covered, but not without weeks of labor sifting through and reorganizing files. (I can’t convert to the Mac fast enough. )

What backup schemes do you have? Any advice? What has worked for you?

_________________________________________________________

Author Photo 2 Square - Copy copy

Brian Mercer is the author of the supernatural YA novel, Aftersight (Astraea Press, 2013). He is also co-author with Robert Bruce of Mastering Astral Projection: 90-Day Guide to Out-of-body (Llewellyn, 2004) and The Mastering Astral Projection CD Companion (Llewellyn, 2007). A board member of the Pacific Northwest Writers Association and senior editor at Author Magazine, he lives in Seattle with his wife, Sara, and their three cats.

 URL: www.brianmercerbooks.com

tumblr_inline_msw15rad8T1qz4rgp

2 thoughts on “The Crash of 2012

  1. Yipes! That’s a scary feeling.

    I email myself important documents and transfer them to my Kindle. I also have a detachable hard drive that should come out of its box… 😉

  2. Ugh. That’s the worst. Thank god you have backup though. I have very little space left on my computer too so I’m taking your story as a sign to get mine upgraded asap!

Leave a Reply

