The Waiting…

Even before my PC hard drive crashed, I’ve been pining to get a new iMac. Now that I’ve made the decision to convert to the OS X platform, I can hardly wait to get started.

There’s only one problem. These computers haven’t had a hardware refresh in a year and half, so it makes no sense to buy old technology when the new stuff should be coming out in a month or two. So I find myself pawing at the ground like a bull who’s seen a fire engine.

Then I read this great blog post from blogger Ingrid Schaffenburg about how we’ve become a culture of instant gratification. Please take a look at what she has to say. It makes me think that maybe sometimes waiting makes the final outcome all the more sweet.

_________________________________________________________

Author Photo 2 Square - Copy copy

Brian Mercer is the author of the supernatural YA novel, Aftersight (Astraea Press, 2013). He is also co-author with Robert Bruce of Mastering Astral Projection: 90-Day Guide to Out-of-body (Llewellyn, 2004) and The Mastering Astral Projection CD Companion (Llewellyn, 2007). A board member of the Pacific Northwest Writers Association and senior editor at Author Magazine, he lives in Seattle with his wife, Sara, and their three cats.

 URL: www.brianmercerbooks.com

tumblr_inline_msw15rad8T1qz4rgp

4 thoughts on “The Waiting…

  1. It absolutely does! And thank you for the mention 🙂 So wait a minute… Apple is coming out with new hardware?? I’m having to buy a new computer (spilled water on my old wa) so maybe I’ll wait too!

  2. brimercer says:

    That was actually the second thing I thought when I heard about your liquid accident. New hardware!

    If you’re even *considering* an iMac, yes, you MUST wait. If you’re getting a MacBook Pro or MacBook Air, new hardware was just released in June, so you’re good to go.

    Do you need to be mobile?

  3. brimercer says:

    A MacBook Air *and* an iMac… I like the way you think. 🙂

    If you can hold off, wait for the September 12 Apple event. There very well may be an announcement then about an updated iMac. If not, there’s still hope. Rumors also suggest an October announcement/release. I have my money on September 12.

    Plan B could be a MacBook Air + 27″ Thunderbolt Display combo. That way you get the best of both worlds. MacBook Air when you’re away, but when you’re home hook it up to the Thunderbolt and you essentially have a 27″ iMac.

Leave a Reply

